When can I go and meet with Him?

I am thirsty for God. I am thirsty for the living God. When can I go and meet with him?” (Psalm 42:2, NIrV)

There have been times when attending worship has been like checking one more thing off of that day’s checklist.  And there have been days when God has spoken, but it has been one voice amongst so many running through my mind even in the middle of the service.  But there have been many more like those of the last couple months, in which, like the verse above, my heart has been prepared and overflowing.  When can I go? I have found myself yearning for the worship service.  Not for lack of God’s presence or His voice, quite the opposite.  As I explained to the boys this evening, God has been giving so much to me during the week through regular devotional times and readings that I look forward to that hour of worship more than any other, as an opportunity simply to lift my soul up to my Savior.  To focus all of my attention, all of my imagination, and all of my adoration upward to the one true lover of my soul.

thoroughbreds

photo by digitalink

I asked my boys why they like to sit on my lap and they responded – because I’m their dad and I love them and I take care of them and they want to be close to me.  It was the simplest way for me to explain why that hour is so special.  It is when I can look up from God’s feet and I can see up to His knees and just beyond His lap, where I want to be – because He loves me and takes care of me and I only want to be close to Him and to enjoy His presence.

satisfied-horse1

photo by deljenphotography

Psalm 42 describes a deer panting for water as a metaphor for that thirst and desire for God.  Honestly, I’ve never seen a deer panting for water and it doesn’t come close to describing the amps running through my soul in anticipation of worship.  On Saturday, I could only think of thoroughbred racehorses primed and ready looking for the gate to fly open, ready to burst through and charge forward toward their prize.  That is the way my soul felt within me in its desire to worship before the throne of God!  To shout out ‘Here is My God – He is my God and My Savior!’  Oh Lord may it always be so – that the cry of my heart be to praise and worship you and you alone, for You alone satisfy and You alone are worthy!

2 Comments

  1. amesces said,

    March 2, 2009 at 2:10 am

    Nice post – May it ever be so!
    Dave

  2. Numa Gomez said,

    March 3, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Great thought dude! Haven’t seen any postings on facebook lately; you’ve been busy?


Leave a Reply

